Dress up closet

I had seen a really great idea on pinterest, go figure, for a dress up closet. We have a great playroom with lots of room, but we could use some more dedicated storage. We have craft storage and big bins that catch barbies, babies, and I had one specifically for dress up clothes. I felt that the dress up clothes really could use a space of their own that would be helpful for the children to use them.

So, I had on my list of to dos in the next few months to find a very inexpensive chest of drawers and turn it into a dress up closet. Well just my luck, I had some friends moving out of town (to clarify it was my luck that I came across a chest of drawers, not that my friends moved) and they had the perfect chest for me to buy.

First, I took out all the drawers except the bottom one and the rails. Then, I measured some stripes and painted.

20120208-215556.jpg

20120208-215605.jpg

Next, I took a piece of mdf, that i had left over from a project, to home depot to get it cut to put on top of the bottom drawer to use as a shelf. Then, I bought a wooden dowel (and had home depot cut it as well) and 2 plastic closet rod hangers. All together is cost me about $7 in supplies.

I got home and took about 15 minutes to glue the shelf down on the drawer rails and attach the rod hangers and put up the new clothes rod.

20120208-220138.jpg

20120208-220147.jpg

20120208-220154.jpg

And now, we have a little closet dedicated to all of my little girl’s dress up clothes. All together it cost me about $19! What a deal.

2 thoughts on “Dress up closet

  1. Awesome! That is so adorable. It’s one thing to pin it to your board on Pinterest, and then actually follow-through with the idea. I bet SR will enjoy this so much.

Leave a Reply

