Paper Straws Used as Display

Back in February, I was in Target perusing the aisles looking for inexpensive ways to display auction item description cards for a fund-raiser I was planning. The budget for decorating was not large and every penny that I didn’t spend would go straight back to the non-profit organization.

I eventually found packages of brightly striped paper straws in the party aisle and was immediately smitten with them. I don’t like to drink out of paper straws, but using them for my display would be great. I believe they came in packs of 20 with a variety of colors. I only needed the green, blue and turquoise ones for the fund-raiser and saved the other colors to use at my daughter’s first birthday.

I had to create some sort of stand to place the straws in and I decided to use metal nuts and washers. We glued the appropriate size nut (it has to be the right diameter for the straw to fit in, I checked it at the hardware store by taking a straw inside with me) onto a 1″ metal washer and then super glued the straw into the nut. It was a very inexpensive solution and I really like the shiny metal mixed with the brightly colored stripes. I think overall I spent about $24 and that gave me 27 display stands for my auction item cards.

For my daughter’s 1st birthday, I used the same concept and then glued her 12 months of photos on the straws.

IMG_1790

IMG_1789IMG_9199

Leave a Reply

